Luminant Shadows

Duration: ~12 Minutes

Luminant Shadows is an orchestration of the first movement of my second sonata for alto saxophone and piano of Light and Shadows. Rather than convert the movement into a concertino featuring a saxophone soloist with wind ensemble, I followed the conception of the original version, which seamlessly joined the saxophone and piano as if they were a single instrument. Thus, the wind-and-percussion orchestra, as a single instrument itself, subsumes all the original material, redistributing it throughout the wide spectrum of colors available to the ensemble.

Luminant Shadows is a mostly quiet nocturne in arch form, reflecting on the interactions between light and light’s shadow-creating obstructors.

This version for wind ensemble was completed on April 15, 2018.



November 2018 Crane School of Music, SUNY Potsdam.


  • Piccolo
  • 2 Flutes
  • Alto Flute
  • 2 Oboes
  • English Horn
  • Eb Clarinet
  • 3 Bb Clarinets
  • Bass Clarinets
  • Soprano Saxophone
  • Alto Saxophone
  • Tenor Saxophone
  • Baritone Saxophone
  • 2 Bassoons
  • Contrabassoon
  • 4 Horns in F
  • 3 Bb Trumpets
  • 3 Trombones
  • Bass Trombone
  • 2 Euphoniums
  • Tuba
  • 4 Percussion
  • 1. Gong, Tam-tam, Suspended Cymbal
  • 2. Crotales, Glockenspiel, Suspended Cymbal
  • 3. Chimes, Marimba
  • 4. Vibraphone, Suspended Cymbal
  • Harp
  • Piano
Scroll to Top