Joyful Noises

Duration: 12 Minutes, 30 Seconds

Scored for young musicians from late elementary school age through high school, Joyful Noises highlights the entire orchestra as well as groups within the orchestra. The unusual instrumentation is based on a list representing the 2010 – 2011 roster.

Joyful Noises is a suite in four movements:

Fanfare: A short majestic fanfare and processional for the entire orchestra making use of triadic and quartal harmony. (approx. 2:00)

Galop: A lively dance in duple meter for the younger musicians in the group. Based on a traditional Galop, this movement also features call-and-response textures between strings and winds. (approx. 2:15)

Asymmetrical Waltz: A waltz in an asymmetrical division of common time (3+3+2) for the older musicians in the group. This movement features lush harmonies accompanying a very simple melodic ideas. (approx. 4:00)

Bolerallel: A bolero employing the typical ostinato and a repeating melody presented in parallel motion in various groups of instruments. Similar to Ravel’s great Bolero, the texture becomes denser as the movement continues to the end. (approx. 4:00)

Joyful Noises was commissioned by the Adirondack Youth Orchestra Association in Celebration of their 25th Anniversary. It was completed in Potsdam, NY in July 2010.

Instrumentation: The full orchestra is the complement of the two separate orchestras below. Orchestra 1 represents the “Youth Orchestra” and Orchestra 2 is comprised of the “Youth Winds” and the “Youth Strings.” Orchestra 1 performs Asymmetrical Waltz, Orchestra 2 performs the Galop, and the entire ensemble plays the outer movements.



November 14, 2010, Plattsburgh High School Auditorium, Plattsburgh, NY by the Adirondack Youth Orchestra.


Orchestra 1
  • 2 Flute
  • 1 Oboe
  • 2 Clarinet
  • 1 Bass Clarinet
  • 1 Alto Saxophone
  • 1 Tenor Saxophone
  • 2 Horns in F
  • 3 Bb Trumpet
  • 3 Trombones
  • 1 Tuba
  • 6 Violin I
  • 6 Violin II
  • 3 Viola
  • 3 Cello
  • 2 Bass
Orchestra 2
  • 2 Flute
  • 4 Clarinet
  • 2 Alto Saxophone
  • 1 Tenor Saxophone
  • 2 Horns in F
  • 2 Bb Trumpet
  • 4 Trombones
  • 4 Violin I
  • 4 Violin II
  • 4 Viola
  • 2 Cello
  • 1 Bass

Note: In addition to the strings and winds of the ensembles, a timpanist and 3 additional percussionists (Snare drum, cymbals, bass drum, triangle, and glockenspiel) are required for the entire work.

Scroll to Top