Duration: 7 Minutes, 30 Seconds

Capriccio is a rhythmically driven piece in three sections based on two simple melodic ideas and the harmonic interval of a third. The ideas appear in various combinations to create an effect of playful dramaticism and a musical language generally reminiscent of early twentieth century tonality.

Originally scored for oboe, clarinet, and piano, Capriccio was arranged for soprano and alto saxophones with piano for members of the Mana Quartet and pianist Erika Tazawa for performances during their 2009 – 2010 season.

An arrangement was made for flute, clarinet, and piano for Duo Esplanade in 2015.

An arrangement was made for soprano saxophone, clarinet, and piano for Christopher Creviston in 2017.

All four versions are available.



December 15, 2009 at Thunderbird, Phoenix, AZ by The Mana Trio.


  • Soprano Saxophone
  • Alto Saxophone
  • Piano
Scroll to Top